Wednesday, September 10, 2014

About Me


I saw this on Meghan's blog and thought I would borrow the idea for today's post! Here's a little introduction for y'all about me. 

Name/Age/Location
My name is Brittany and I'm 27 years old. I live in a suburb of Dallas, Texas. I was born and raised in Southeast Texas, went to college in Central Texas {where I met my now-husband} and moved to North Texas following graduation. 


Family
I married my husband, Brandon, on Oct. 9, 2010. We had our first child, Walker, on Jan. 29 of this year. I have two brothers and a sister {I'm the oldest}, and Brandon is the middle of three boys. My parents still live in my hometown, and Brandon's parents live about 15 minutes away from us. 


Work
I am a Communications Coordinator for a local school district. I have been in this job for about 1.5 years. Prior to that, I did public relations for American Airlines via the PR firm Weber Shandwick. In my current job, I get all of the school holidays off {Spring Break, Thanksgiving Break, Christmas Break, etc.}, which is really nice. It's a very family-friendly job! Once we have our next baby, the plan is for me to stay home, but we shall see when the time comes. 

Through this job, I have met two of my very good friends, Liz and Susana. I am so blessed to have great friends at work! 


Hobbies
I love cooking {and eating}, shopping, having wine with friends, going for walks, working on our house, napping {ha!}, spending time with my sweet little family and blogging, of course. I also love watching reality TV and college football. 

Favorite Food
I truly don't know how I could ever pick just one thing. I love, love food and eating! Ha! 

I love a good steak; homemade macaroni and cheese; lobster; spaghetti; homemade custard; cherry cream pie; bread {and any carb, really...}; ballpark hot dogs; and I could go on and on, but I'll refrain. 

Favorite Color
My husband will tell you that my favorite color is black. I hardly have any other colors in my closet. 

Standard Coffee Order
We typically drink coffee at home {Donut House K-cups with more-than-enough hazelnut coffee creamer}, but if I go to Starbucks, I'll get a Venti Iced Soy Chai Tea Latte with light ice. If I'm feeling like a Fat Pat, I'll get a Grande Caramel Frappuccino. Of course, I'm all about the Pumpkin Spice Latte and Peppermint Mocha, too. #basicwhitegirl

Standard Bar Order
White or red wine; a very dirty vodka martini with blue cheese-stuffed olives; and a margarita if I'm at a Tex-Mex restaurant. 

Places I Shop
Loft, Banana Republic, Gap, TJ Maxx, Target...I don't discriminate if It's cute!

Bedtime and Wake-up Time
This has changed dramatically since Walker was born! I try to be asleep by 9:30 p.m. at the latest, because I have to get up at 5 a.m. {during the weeks}. When Brandon travels, I get up at 4:30 a.m. since I'm doing everything by myself. 

Beauty Products I Can't Live Without



What I Blog About
I blog mostly about our day-to-day lives and Walker. But I also blog about recent recipe favorites, products I've enjoyed and other randomness!

First Blog I Read
Blue Eyed Bride by Erin Carroll 

How Did I Start Blogging
I had just moved to Dallas and was bored at my first job one day, so I started my first {now defunct} blog, "Small Town Southern Girl." I really enjoyed - and still do - the creative outlet. 

Why I Blog
Like I said, I love the creative outlet. But I also love the friendships I've created and the community blogging brings. It's a great way for me to remember what we did, how I felt about things and an even better way to document everything with Walker, especially because I'm sleep-deprived half the time! 

No comments:

Post a Comment